A Poem for Hikers, Bikers, and Tree-Huggers

Left Fork Mountain Trail

 

Listen to me please I have to remember where I

left my left eye remember when we went

camping, you and me and the canteen?

We left our shoes in San Francisco so we

could find them again after we were lost.

You left your husband in Las Vegas I

left the aerosol can in Portland along

with my iniquities.  You were the hostess

of the tree and I was the King of Mosquitoes

you searched for pebbles in the water

there was only the moon but you left

your beautiful skirts there in the sun

and you laughed and I laughed and I

found my left eye in my right, open,

and crying.

Leave a Reply

