Sorry I haven’t written. . .

I’m not posting here as frequently as I used to because I am at the mercy of my newborn son’s feeding schedule. I never truly appreciated the term “working mother” until I was charged with taking care of a newborn. The fact is, ALL mothers are working, whether they have jobs outside the home or not. Breastfeeding a colickly one-month old is probably the most demanding job I’ve ever had. It’s hard work, for sure, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

What has made the past week or so infinitely more interesting is the fact I had a tight deadline to return rewrites to a publisher of one of my novels. I had less than a week to turn around a complete rewrite, newborn or no newborn. You wouldn’t believe all the crazy tricks I had to devise in order to meet that deadline. Among them:

  • Using one hand to hold baby while he nurses, using the other hand to type (not recommended)
  • Wearing baby in a Snugli while standing up at an ironing board, which places laptop at waist level for easy typing (not recommended for more than 30 minutes at a stretch—back pain!)
  • Putting baby in bouncy seat just to left of computer desk, using foot to bounce baby while leaving both hands free to type (this usually works for about half an hour, then baby gets bored)
  • Sacrificing all opportunities for my own sleep by using baby’s naptimes to write (this is what I did the most)

Needless to say, I’m exhausted.

Peace.

4 comments

  1. Ah yes, mommy exhaustion, I remember it well. Hopefully this stage will pass quickly for you. What stage is your to-be-published memoir in now, and are you back at your day job, as well as mommying and writing? Wishes for lots of delicious naps to you.

  2. Not back to work yet, Polly. Won’t be going back to day job until December. Meantime, edits/rewrites and baby are keeping me plenty busy.There are some new developments going on regarding my memoir. Details soon.

Leave a Reply

